· 

Saint Foy la Grande - Basanne

Saint Foy la Grande – Pellegrue – La Réole – Basanne

 

 

 

My last day on the French chemin de Saint Jacques was very short but for sure a highlight.

 

We left very late and searched for a supermarché. In a small magasin Alex found everything he was looking for, I did not. At Cazenat we split because the pedestrian precinct was too thin for my trailer.

 

I followed the pilgrims-route more or less through the vineyards until I had to rest at Pellegrue for an hour. On my map it looked like I would ride through lots of forests providing comfortable shadow. Instead I realized in the bright sun of southern France that the signs for vineyards and forest are very similar.

 

At Roquebrune I lost the way but in the end it was just tiny shortcut on the way to La Réole.

 

I crossed the Garonne knowing there were less than ten kilometers between me and the “Ecluse 50”, the final destination of my chemin de Saint Jacques before I would follow the Canal Latéral à la Garonne.

 

Caroline and Christian had made up their place real nice in the last three years, though they aren’t finished with their Gîte for pilgrims and cyclists they are running a small restaurant with really tasty menus.

 

I arrived at the same time as Florent, a traveling musician, and we were both invited to put up our tents on the lawn behind the restaurant and later have drink with Christian. He also prepared a well designed plate of beef and potatoes for each us.

 

Florent and I played just a little bit together before he continued solo with his guitar. When all the guests had left Christian joined us at the table and we drank and joked deep into the night.