· 

gute Strasse

Golkrath - Jackerath (17km)

 

Three months ago I suggested with my former-boss to end our collaboration as long as were still willing to drink a beer together is the best we could do. Then I told my health-insurance and the Job-Center where to put my files. I quit my bank-account and prepared for the departure.

Actually, I wanted to leave already yesterday, but on Sunday I didn't get the chance to say goodbye to dad, Markus, Anke and the kids. So I stayed another day.

It was quite moving, when I waved to mum, grandma and grandpa one last time on the corner, just before I started my long path.

Last night Markus, the kids and I had looked at the map where I want to go - and holy shit, that's quite a distance.

After less than a kilometer I realized, that I forgot my towel. My mum was so kind to bring it to me by bike. It's a good one - micro-fibre, but when you're packed to the limit, you'll try to avoid each step back. Memo to myself: try harder not to loose such much of the important stuff.

Then it took me through Erkelenz, Kückhoven and over the fields onto Jackerath. At the edge of Erkelenz I already thought that "this is much more exhausting than work!" But when small boy asked me in Kückhoven "Why do you want to walk that far?" I could only reply: "Because I have nothing better to do."

At a model-airfield near-by I made the first break, totally spent and with feet burning like hell. Fortunately two members allow me to rest in the shadow on one of the clubs comfortable benches.

In the fields to Jackerath nothing outstanding happened. It was just me trying not to do very much detours and my poor feet enjoying the too well tempered asphalt. After 17km we reached the point, where they finally went into strike, so I put up my tent.

Stupid me, when Daniel gave me his one-person-tent I should have had tested it. Especially because I thought: "What a big bag for a small tent." So I had to realize very soon that I wasn't putting up my new tent, but Daniel's beach shelter. Luckily there was no wind, rain nor low temperatures that night.