· 

Reinsfeld - Trier

Hallo Markus and Anke

 

 

 

“Rosinante” is repaired and tested the hard way. The passage leaving the Hunsrück to Trier was nearly as good as most of the goat-trails I walked on Crete.

 

Luckily I delivered a load of bread, Tobi’s niece and my trailer with most of the bags to the brewery earlier today.

 

It took me around 3 hours to get to the Biergarten even without all that shit attached to the bike and my legs were heavy as lead, but I got lots of beer, met nice people. The knowledge that I wouldn’t have to more than 500m on the bike was also a pleasant price for enduring that torture.

 

Ralf and Gerlind, who were sitting at the other end of the table, kept me company until the last order and Ralf had also some stories about living on the road.

 

He spent 4 months as a wandering musician and knew about that sometimes you get judged by your adventuress look, not by the adventures that made you look like this. When he told about all those interesting people you get to meet, he mentioned this one guy traveling by horse, I directly got this strange feeling, that I had read his book. And as he mentioned the guys journey through America I was totally sure, that he met in person one of those guys, who inspired me to start my big adventure.

 

Funny while traveling one meets much more interesting persons than assholes.

 

In the end Ralf also gave me ten Euro to pay the oncoming beers or the next beer for me and the nice lady I’ll meet.

 

When they had to leave, I was asked inside the brewery, because of some neighbors complaining about the “noise”. We had some more drinks while the bartenders did their final duties. After they were finished, we left to search another bar to drink a lot more. Too much, as I thought when I had to spit most of that into the porcelain-throne.

 

At Melanie’s place we fixed a nice fast-food-after-midnight-feast. Very healthy, thanks to the mayor ingredients: fat, cheese and salami.

 

Around this time I finally realized, that tomorrow wouldn’t be as comfortable as today.

 

 

 

Greetings from Trier

 

 

 

your Michael