· 

Trier - Nennig

Hey Julian and Anke,

 

 

 

I overdid it yesterday much too much and the weather this morning fitted my mood. At half past eight I woke up because of the noise of heavy rain. Still pissed I ran down to save my bags from the bike, but despite my situation last night I wisely must have brought them inside, just in case.

 

If it was the rest-alcohol or the knowledge of leaving Trier with a hangover in the rain I couldn’t tell, but I was unable to fall asleep again and waited enjoying my headaches for Melanie to rise from the dead, too.

 

We had a nice breakfast – mostly cigarettes and lots of water – while waiting for the rain to stop. As soon as we could be sure not to get totally soaked outside we went to the city. Melanie to get some groceries and I needed some plastic-protection for my spokes and a few things I might need during my journey and won’t be able to buy in France. (Soap, Magnesium-, Calcium pills, Natrium-bicarbonat)

 

At the Biergarten I put in the protector, I finally got in the second store I visited and only after some discussion. If we can’t charge you for putting it in then you won’t put it in neither – a nice philosophy of the 21st century.

 

Took me a bit longer than usual, maybe due to my condition, but I was able to start shortly before the next shower, lucky me.

 

The rest of the day was nice and quiet. Bought myself the last liter of Buttermilch for the next 1500 kilometers and got rid of the last reusable bottles. In the evening I met Jean from Luxembourg, who had a little but unsolvable problem with his e-bike. He had gone to Santiago by bike years ago and assured me that getting there with the trailer will be very unpleasant.

 

When we parted it was time for me to find a nice spot to put up the tent. Because all the nice places were infested by fishermen or camping-areas, I took the first meadow with access to the Mosel despite the bloodthirsty mosquito.

 

After I opened the last moist bags to dry out during the night I laid myself to rest and slept like a baby.

 

 

Rock on,

 

 

your Michael