· 

Ambonville - Clairvaux

Ambonville – Colombey les Deux Églises – Clairvaux

 

 

 

I woke up early and fixed me a coffee, cleaned the last dirty spots in the kitchen, packed the dried laundry in the bags and left. Even before leaving the village, I recognized my first flat tire and changed this with my spare one.

 

The way to Colombey had its ups and downs, actually it was nothing else. I knew about it and thought ‘Aaar... f*** it, it’s just half a day’.

 

In Colombey I bought two bananas, to avoid further cramps, and a bottle of sparkling water for a little bit more than four Euros. Really! In Germany that would have been less than one, but maybe in France the bananas are more worthier the browner they become.

 

The rest of the road should have been very much easier so I gave a fuck and went on. Downhill through the woods exactly how daddy likes it and then five kilometers in the already burning sun over a plain road … under construction. ‘Aaar... f*** it, it’s just half a day’

 

I reached the house of the sisters from the fraternité Saint Bernard half an hour after Dagmar and was offered lots of cold water. Because I haven’t done my usual effort of a day I only took two glasses and started to work on the flat trailer wheel. I fixed the tire and exchanged all old spoke-locks. When Dagmar came down, we talked a bit about how we got here and where we’re going to. Then Dagmar went to the museum/old abbey and I tried to visit my former host in Outre Aube without success.

 

At dinner we talked a little bit about the pony, its owner, some other events of my first path of St. James and about our plans about what to do on this Chemin de Saint Jacques.

 

After I wrote a little bit, I went to bed early, because we were planning to have breakfast at half past seven and I wished to have Rosinante prepared and ready by then.