· 

Chatillon en Bazois - Le Veurdre

Chatillon en Bazois – St Leger des Vignes/Decize – Saint Parize le Châtel – Le Veurdre

 

 

 

I started very early because the concrete floor wasn’t that comfortable to enjoy lying on it for too long. In Chatillon I found a public toilet to refill my cantines and wash my well smashed tomatoes.

 

On the way to Les Sarreaux I met Alain from Pau. His English was very good and I enjoyed having a conversation without searching for every fifth word. He also had lots of tips and stories. Like the blog of “La Trottineuse” which I have to visit and search for some improvements of mine.

 

The rest of the trail to Decize was mostly unspectacular for someone very uninterested in too much sun and no trees along a straight canal. In Decize I found lots of supermarkets to buy supplies and hurried to find also the fastest way out, because I don’t like even smaller Cities with plenty of traffic. The nice thing about those is, that there aren’t that much roads to loose the direction.

 

During the first stop at the Canal Latéral à la Loire I figured out that I didn’t have to go to Nevers. Instead I could just leave the canal at the third bridge after Fleury sur Loire.

 

If I would have zoomed a little bit more into the map I could have recognized the small bridge between the second and “third” providing access to several meadows and spared myself a nice steep walk through knee-high weeds.

 

The road to Saint Parize was as uncomfortable as expected and I was able to find the house of my former hosts from memory. But since it was Saturday no one but the dog was home. So I left a short note and continued my journey to the camping municipale at Le Veurdre.

 

I arrived early enough to pay the price of four Euro twenty. After the shower and the laundry I met a nice French family, very interested in my journey and talk with them until sunset.