· 

Le petit Chenil - La Souterraine

Le petit Chenil – Sarzay – Neuvy Saint Sépulchre – Vareilles – La Souterraine

 

 

 

I woke up around seven o’clock but Michaél was still asleep so I rested a little bit longer. I had promised to start and walk the first five kilometers with him together. We had a small breakfast and said goodbye to Guy before we went to Sarzay, where Michaél wanted to visit the castle. There we took some photos and split. I found a nice less steep detour to La Souterraine, that left the path of Saint James at Neuvy and went westward to a road south alongside the highway to La Souterraine. The roads before the highway were very nice, but after there were again too much sun and hills without any shadow.

 

At Vareilles I met some nice people who filled my water supplies. So I could enter La Souterraine in search for a place to sleep. My map showed me a nice camping area at the entrance of the City, but for what reason ever it was closed for half the summer. And so were the showers. I went to the Sédelle to find some access to the water without any luck.

 

By then it was getting dark very fast and I had only two “shower-spots” left: the cemetery and a public toilet. The cemetery was quite big and also closed, the toilet just a hole in the ground. “I have to leave the city and follow the camino to find some better places” I thought. And already in the city-center I found perfect public toilet right next to the church.

 

When I was finished at half past eleven, I met two very young and slightly drunk French pilgrims, telling me that they are going to walk the whole night onto the next bigger town. I thought about joining, but wished them just a good way and went to a pick nick area to sleep at least a few hours.